Ball Point Pen

 

It’s an unlikely medium, but I’ll admit to drawing with ball point pens and enjoying it more than the fancy archival inks.

Last summer when I was traveling solo in Japan, I drew these three pieces. Pulling out a ball point pen and a scrap of paper on the train put me in the doodling mind-set. I wasn’t worried about the product so much as just experiencing the process. Something akin to passing the time in a boring lecture.

Yes there are weird blotches here and there, but there is also a sketchy quality that more permanent inks can’t achieve. And I always have random pens in my bag so there’s no excuse not to draw… always.


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ball Point Pen

  1. I LOVE this drawing! It’s absolutely beautiful!

  2. Nicole Lockwood

    I’m so glad you did this, Hillary. I especially like the waves and fish that you did with the ballpoint pen. I’m sold on it being a great medium. … such texture!

    I also really liked the Laura Ingalls in the haystack painting. I can imagine putting it in a little girl’s room to inspire a sense of freedom and feistiness!

    : ) Nicole

Leave a Reply

