a conference summed up in lists

My favorite things from the SCBWI conference:

  • My consultation with Lucy Ruth Cummins, an art director at Simon and Schuster. She was truly excited about my work and she gave me all kinds of useful suggestions!
  • Getting a peek into Melissa Sweet‘s artistic process (and studio, via video!). She works so passionately and thoroughly on her artwork- her collage is pure play and her watercolors are exceptionally rich. Carmine: A Little More Red is now on my list of books to study (see below).
  • Andrea Welch from Beach Lane Books shared ten questions she asks when considering a picture book, such as “Is the project emotionally engaging?” or “Does the story meet a developmental need?” Speaking of emotion, I teared up at her mere description of William Steig’s Sylvester and the Magic Pebble. What a great story.

Things I heard that stuck:

  • “If I were to hang this on my wall, what would I want it to look like?” – Melissa Sweet
  • “The creative muse likes rhythmic activities: walking, music, chopping vegetables…” – Bonny Becker
  • “I figured they’d have reject toys at the Monster Academy.” – Scott Magoon

Picture books I can’t wait to check out:

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “a conference summed up in lists

  1. Thomas

    When I saw the Carmine book, I clicked on it just to make sure that Carmine wasn’t a beetle, and that the book did not have a very sad, iced beverage ending!

    http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/businesstechnology/2017852081_starbucksbug28.html

Leave a Reply

