five books and a baby

I don’t think I ever announced my pregnancy to the blogosphere, but it’s true. I’m due in July. Here is a picture to confirm this craziness:

I’m standing in my studio that’s being slowly converted into a nursery.

Anyhow, Chris and I had some of our favorite Chicagoans visiting the other weekend and they surprised us with the most amazing gift: a little kids’ backpack in the shape of an owl, filled with board books! Each one is such a treasure- a few old favorites, a few that are becoming new classics, and one that is delicious. See if you can guess which is which:

        

I’ve been reading these to the baby (talk about a captive audience) and I’m getting some good kicks in response. He or She especially seems to like Harry the Dirty Dog, in which Harry starts off as a white dog with black spots, but after a day of playing in the dirt and sliding down the coal shoot, he becomes a black dog with white spots. It’s a simple, funny, sweet story. I think baby already has good taste in picture books.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “five books and a baby

  1. Tina LaPadula

    Harry the Dirty Dog is one of Elijah’s favorites…really…he reaches for it at bed time again and again…and has now taken to acting it our while I read it.

  2. Lourdes

    Wowww! Congratulations!!! Having a little one around is loads of fun!!

  3. christen foehring

    What a lucky baby! You look great! We should go for a walk soon! Xo!

  4. Pingback: quietestnoise

Leave a Reply

