My Very Own Illustration Friday

Has anyone participated in illustration friday? It’s a site that offers a weekly prompt for illustrators who then have a week to create a piece. There is a featured piece chosen for each round of submissions. Check it out.

I set aside some quality time at my art table today, but without a firm idea of what I wanted to work on. So I checked illustration friday for a prompt and came back with “faded.”

Faded made me think of old jeans, worn soft from years of wearing. (This made me wonder- when was the last time I wore jeans? The memory of jeans is fading and is replaced by maternity pants that I have to pull up every two minutes.) So I came up with this little drawing.

I was also excited to try out some recently purchased gouache. The bold colors make me happy!

And lastly, I’ve been thinking about ideas for a mural drawing on the wall of the baby’s room. Here is one idea that I don’t plan on using, but I still like. The bear is blatantly copied- does anyone know where from?

Happy long weekend everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “My Very Own Illustration Friday

  1. Love the four little owls! Reminds me of Burl Ives!

  2. I Want My Hat Back!- the bear- right? hehe. And I love your submission for illustration Friday! It’s a great idea.
    Glad you are loving the gouache! It’s nice to have some range with color. 🙂

    • Yes! that’s the funny expressively expressionless bear. Thanks for the gouache suggestion last winter- I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to try it out.

Leave a Reply

