my process

My process of creating a picture book dummy begins with a storyboard, which is just thumbnails sketched on mini post its. It generally looks like this.

Then I tend to draw out my composition on a small piece of paper (4.25 x 5.5). I fold it in half so I can keep the gutter in mind, then I tend to ink the drawing using ball point pen and sometimes I shade it with pencil. This is a fun part of the process because I can start playing with the texture and pattern I’ll use in the final painting.

Anyhow, as I was nearing the completion of dummy drawings for the owl and the pussycat, I laid out the spreads side by side and realized I have an extra spread. Somehow between the storyboard and the dummy drawings I must have gotten carried away. I’m not sure how I managed that.

Here are the two final spreads, which were a lot of fun to complete!

they dined on mince and slices of quince, which they ate with a runcible spoon

and hand in hand, on the edge of the sand, they danced by the light of the moon

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “my process

  1. gorgeous! Thanks for sharing your process Hillary.

  2. Hill—your drawings are so beautiful, playful and there is a peacefulness to them that I can’t quite describe in words. You are an amazing artist!

Leave a Reply

