Illustration Inspiration: an air-bending avatar

Since Lucy was born I’ve watched WAY more TV than usual. In the evenings, after hours of bouncing and singing and diaper changing, TV is often the only thing I have energy for.

Lately I have to admit that I’ve been passing up shows like Mad Men and Breaking Bad for an anime series that, surprisingly, has some lovely illustrative elements. It’s called Avatar: The Last Airbender and it takes place in a world where people have the power to bend the elements of water, air, earth and fire.

Honestly, I am not an anime person. But I do have a giant soft spot for two genius animators:  Hayao Miyazaki and Samauri Jack creator Genndy Tartakovsky. If those two had a love child it might just be Avatar. The characters are stylistically excellent, with great depth and humor. And all of the scenery is highly imaginative and asian inspired… I’m such a sucker for scenery! So we’ll see how this influences my latest work. It already seems as though the Owl and the Pussycat are traveling through a Japan-inspired world of willowy trees and patterned waves.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Illustration Inspiration: an air-bending avatar

  1. Funny! Chris and I were just talking about this at Brendan’s birthday. Chris rented the video game version of the series thinking it was James Cameron’s “Avatar” 😉

  2. Just LOVE “The Last Airbender” series! I made a costume for Quinn so she could wear it for Halloween, maybe two years ago: a blue velvet dress with white velvet trim and a caplet coat. I’ll look for a photo for you.

  3. Sol

    i love it since it got out . im so sad ‘ the legend of korra ‘ is out beacuse i understood that i waited frikin 4 years for seeing my faivorite show ever , dead . only katara and zuko are alive . ( they found zuko later sorry for the ones who didn’t watch all the epsiodes ) in 2013 will get the 2 season of korra . they show all the time what happend with aang and stuff . ANYWAY . i love the show , it inspires me alot . it takes you to a whole diffrent place where you can laugh , cry , live , and creat you’r own dreams without been judged , or anything else . beacuse of it i found myself away from everything . i use’t to be so uncaclm and unrelax’t and always angry and push myself to places i never wanted to go . but beacuse of it im so calm , and i wish i could be some kind of bender . and who knows in this crazy world anything can happend . im planing on a trip to china to find that man evreyone is talking about . he helps people find themeselfs and be calm and he live’s in some kind of forest . he believes anything can happen , and has all that avatar part of him inside . i believe he can teach me find myself and be my mastar . and who knows ? maybe hes a bender himself and he can teach me 🙂 no im not 10 .. not 11 not 12 not anything . i am full grown and ready to see the world . i wish i could get some money as fast as i can and get away from my family . i have some problames but i do believe evreything will turn out right . just like the show 🙂 LOVE THIS AMAZING WORLD THANKING FOR THE PERSON WHO WROTE AND CREATED IT ♥

Leave a Reply

