new art supplies and Old Bailey

I love new art supplies. Look how bright and clean and promising they are.

new art supplies

Moments after taking this photo I discovered that the gray and ochre pens I was so excited about aren’t water proof, but I can’t complain as it led to some happy accidents and interesting effects. Why doesn’t Micron make gray or ochre pens? Someone out there should…

Anyhow, my favorite purchase was a Derwent Inktense pencil in neutral grey. It’s like a watercolor pencil, but ink, so once it’s dry you can work over it with other media. I loved the textural sooty effect and ended up straying from my portfolio work to create this little sketch based on the Old Bailey character from Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere. Which I’m currently reading and which I love.

old bailey

Old Bailey was not, intrinsically, one of those people put in the world to tell jokes. Despite this handicap, he persisted in trying.

2 Comments

Filed under inspiration, my artwork

2 responses to “new art supplies and Old Bailey

  1. Nina

    I’m enjoying the book too Hill. I love your drawing and would love to see more characters illustrated!

  2. Scott

    What a lovely drawing. I am playing the Old Bailey in a play right now and you have him down. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

