Tenggren’s Pirates

tenggren 1Speaking of pirates (and I was a few weeks ago) check out these illustrations by Gustaf Tenggren from the 1950’s. They come from an aging, much loved Giant Golden Book called Pirates, Ships and Sailors that belonged to my Dad and his sisters when they were young. I couldn’t quite place Tenggren until my illustration group friends helped me make the connection to the Pokey Little Puppy. A favorite golden book from my childhood.

It turns out this is just one of several Giant Golden books that belonged to my Dad and Aunts. There is one about dogs, one about cats, one about animal stories and one called Tenggren’s story book. Most of them have all three of their names written on the end papers and all of them are held together with old, yellowing tape.

Anyhow, I’m loving his style for all things nautical. This is great fodder for moth pirates!

tenggren 4tenggren 2tenggren 3

Leave a comment

Filed under inspiration, picture books

Leave a Reply

