recommendations: Lucy’s two favorite books

How sweet was it to read this post on 100 Scope Notes? It’s about THE LITTLE GARDENER by Emily Hughes and the virtue of the quiet book.

9781909263437_2_ab341

It looks so up my alley: a little thumb sized gardener surrounded by lush, textured plants. Quiet but full of vibrant details.  I can’t wait to see these colored pencil illustrations in person.

But the real recommendations I want to share are coming from Lucy. She has become very, very attached to a few books. She’s never had a blanket or a lovey, instead she has the WORD BOOK and EVERYWHERE BABIES.

the word book   everywhere babies

The WORD BOOK, or My First Words, is really just a collection of pictures and words, but  it has become a platform for creative storytelling, and Lucy has loved it into a torn, duct taped mess. EVERYWHERE BABIES is amazing. Every time I read it I marvel at Marla Frazee and her keen eye for illustrating people of all ages.

But don’t take my word for it. (In case you aren’t hip to reading rainbow, that’s me doing LeVar Burton).

Leave a comment

Filed under picture books, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

