fireflies

Summer is gone but I still have fireflies on the brain. I’m working out some revisions for the dummy of Ada at Night and the spread I’m working on right now shows the characters watching fireflies. This black and white sketch was fun but now I’m looking forward to painting it!

Ada fireflies

Fireflies have been showing up in my work for many years because they’re such a perfect accent to the magical night time scenes I love to illustrate. Like this one. Or this.

Anyhow, I had to share a few of the images I came across while researching fireflies. Hope you enjoy!

06-jiri-trnka-fireflies-1969

by Jiri Trnka

77d26dafe3f57fc4a8a662e0eab9aef5

by Taeeun Yoo

tumblr_nssbdaw9vs1ubilixo1_1280

by Simone Kurtz

tumblr_lqrgtvFoKH1qm6y1co1_500.png

by Hanuol (from Anne of Green Gables)

Leave a comment

Filed under inspiration, my artwork, sketches

Leave a Reply

