A few weeks ago I wrote about how my studio space is slowly being converted into the baby’s room (babies need an incredible amount of stuff). So here is another big step in that direction: the baby room mural.

I was inspired by this project by a Brazilian artist that recently took place at the Olympic Sculpture Park here in Seattle. Her line drawings of waves are simply gorgeous.

Sandra Cinto’s Encontras das Aguas

So I invested in a few paint pens and went to work.

This is after a few hours of planning, sketching onto the wall, and then drawing in the lines with an oil based Sharpie paint pen.

Here are a few details. Of course I couldn’t resist including snails and birds. The drawings surround the inside of the door to the room, so you have to walk all the way in and turn around to see them.

And this is what it looks like altogether after Chris helped me erase a million pencil lines. I definitely recommend this as a simple, minimally messy way to mural.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. Oh My Gosh- so great. I love what you’ve done. Totally charming.

  2. lilach

    So pretty & cheering! I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

